h1

Braced for impact and then…

October 28, 2009

My interactions with some people are mixed.  Infrequent events such as these often lead to changes in the people conversing:  someone you thought you knew and liked turns out to be someone you barely know and can barely toerate.

 

That’s one of my failings – diminishing tolerance of people.  The thing is,  I try to give everyone an opportunity.   Play fair with me and I’ll be there for you.  I’ll go the extra mile, no problem.

 

Some people, however, can be particularly obtuse – an unfortunate state of affairs if you really need dialogue with them, even if it’s an infrequent event.  Sadly, this annoys me, as does my own intolerence of the reactions of others.  I tell myself that people are people and that, as biological organisms, they are prone to acting and reacting in ways that defy logic but simply reveal more of themselves.

 

To cut a long story short, I’m trying to be a better person and the actions and reactions of those I interact with are occasionally frustrating, but I often consider that to be my failure.  Were I more succinct in my initial dealings with these people, I would have communicated my standpoint adequately and negated the need for protracted and frustrating clarifications of point.

 

On the other hand, there is also the view that on occasions, people wilfully ignore the mindset or reasoning of another given that this may justify their actions, irrespective of the tense of their actions.  I find it hard to ascribe that to my own failure of communication, but I’m sure I’ll find a way.

Leave a Reply

